Cathedral Chapter

Chapter is the governing body of the Cathedral and is responsible for all aspects of its life and mission. Its members consist of the Dean, three residentiary canons (a senior member of the clergy connected to the Cathedral) two honorary canons and four lay members (experienced members of the wider community who are not ordained)

The Very Reverend Peter Howell-Jones, Dean of Blackburn: As Senior Priest within the Diocese of Blackburn, Peter is a member of the Bishop’s Leadership Team and is responsible for the oversight and leadership of Blackburn Cathedral.  Prior to ordination Peter held a senior position in a private sector company arranging tours for musicians worldwide.  He is currently on the Board of a number of national Charities and Chair of Medic Malawi delivering partnership support in the areas of health care, education, and sustainable community projects. Peter is married to Siân and they have four grown up children.

Rowena Pailing: is Vice Dean and Canon Missioner.  Her areas of focus in the life of the Cathedral include education and outreach, and she also leads on safeguarding.  She is part of the National Presence and Engagement Task Group which works to equip Christians for the reality of a multi-faith society, and encourages positive engagement with people of other faiths.

Philip North: has been the Bishop of Burnley since 2015 and a member of the Cathedral Chapter since 2016.  He has served in parishes in the northeast and in London and also spent six years running the Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham in Norfolk.  He chairs the national Estates Evangelism Task Group and has a passion for the ministry of the Church in urban areas.  He is a member of the Company of Mission Priests.

Gary O’Neill: is the Canon Precentor.  He is an adult educator and trainer who has taught liturgy, pastoral care and theological reflection in three different dioceses for over 35 years.    Gary spent ten years as the Canon Liturgist at Birmingham Cathedral from 1997-2007 before he moved to his most previous post in the Diocese of Chester, training Ordinands and Readers.  He is married to Christine who is a licensed Reader.

Andrew Sage: has been ordained over 30 years and a Canon of Blackburn since 2008, a member of Chapter since 2010.  Andrew has been Vicar of St Stephen on the Cliffs, Blackpool since 2004.  He is a Director of the Diocesan Board of Finance, chair of the Property Committee and a member of the DAC where he advises on electrical and lighting.  Before ordination Andrew worked in the building industry as an electrical and lighting engineer.  On Chapter and more recently as a member of Blackburn Cathedral Developments, he seeks to utilise his skills with regard to our buildings and their maintenance.

Marion McClintock, MBE: is a parishioner of Lancaster Priory.  She is the former Academic Registrar of the University of Lancaster, and currently Honorary Archivist and Honorary University Fellow.  She is also Honorary General Secretary of the Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society, founded in 1866.

Paul Mason: is a regular worshipper at the Cathedral since moving to Blackburn in 1988.  During this time he has served as a Warden and was also Head Server.  He is a Trustee of Blackburn Healthy Living, a board member of B.I.D., Chair of governors of St Stephens C. of E .Primary School and Chair of Blackburn Community and Voluntary Service.

Keith Roberts: has been involved with the cathedral for ten years, initially as parent of a chorister, more latterly as a member of the Cathedral Chapter.  He is married to Helen, and they have three (now grown up) boys.  He trained as a Chartered Accountant, qualifying back in 1985 and presently senior partner with a local firm of accountants based in Ribchester.

Elizabeth Alton: worships at St Wilfrid’s Ribchester. Her previous appointments include: a Housing Association for Homeless men leaving prison, an International Charity for the disabled, and the NHS. In a voluntary capacity she is Vice President of the Tristan da Cunha Association. She also teaches English to sanctuary seekers in Blackburn and Preston.

Andrew Horsfall: is the Chaplaincy and Bereavement Care Manager at East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust where he has been since 2005.  Between 2016 and 2020 he was a Residentiary Canon and Canon Pastor at Blackburn Cathedral.  He continues to serve the Cathedral, leading the Pastoral Care Team.  Andrew is County Chaplain to the Order of St John and St John Ambulance; The Order of St Lazarus and a Chaplain to the Royal British Legion

Cathedral Council

Appointee Appointing Body:
Canon Andy Pratt (Acting Chairman) Bishop’s Appointee
Lord Bishop of Blackburn
The Dean Cathedral Chapter
Mr David Peat Bishop’s Appointee
Mr Richard Prest Fabric Advisory Committee
Canon Jo Venn Bishop’s Appointee
Mr Alan Reid MBE Bishop’s Appointee
Mrs Marion McClintock Cathedral Chapter
Mr Edward Haythornwhite Cathedral Congregation
Canon Fleur Green College of Canons
Canon Andrew Holliday College of Canons
Canon Rowena Pailing Cathedral Chapter
Professor Ian Marshall Churches Together in Lancashire
Councillor Sylvia Liddle B/burn with Darwen Borough Council
Cllr Jayne Rear Lancashire County Council
Mrs Louise Hicks Cathedral Congregation
Mrs Julie Eatwell Cathedral Lay Employee
Mr Brian Rowe Bishop’s Appointee
Vacant Cathedral Chapter

This website uses cookies to give you the best experience. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button. If you click 'Decline', you may continue to use the website, but it may not function correctly. To read our full privacy policy you can visit here.